Jun. 12th, 2007

ailbhe: (trike)
Today, turning right into a cycle lane, across one lane of unmoving traffic - a car driver nodded to me to go ahead and I went.

Augh!

The young man cycling up inside the car, in the gutter, was almost squashed flat by the trike. He was on a little BMX style thing, the trendy kind boys and men cycle with their knees in front of their chest, so I didn't see him coming - but I would have, if I stuck to my usual rule about not trusting car drivers. I'm just not used to seeing that kind of bike on the road, they're usually on the footpath; bikes on the road are usually easy to see as they are higher than cars.

I found it hard to believe I'd been so stupid, although actually, no-one was hurt. We cycled almost abreast on the shared-use path, my front wheel grazed his rear wheel, no-one fell off, though I immediately stopped (safely!) to make sure everyone was ok. Then he stopped too, and we established that we were all fine, and that was that.

But wow.

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234 567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags